< PREVIOUS ARTIST next artist > BACK TO LINEUP

PLAID (UK)

Warp

Live - Intelligent Dance Music

20'

FRIDAY 21 NOVEMBER 2014

BÂTIMENT DES FORCES MOTRICES

Andy Turner and Ed Handley, aka Plaid, are among those artists who have shaped, along with such illustrious pairs as Aphex Twin and Autechre, the story of one of the most exciting and respected label of the electronic scene, cradle of an uncompromising music. Although the duo, affiliated with the Warp stable since the group’s formation in 1991, is one of the cult artists of the golden age of IDM and electronica, it has been able to move with the times and to remain at the forefront of the underground electronic scene, with more than a dozen album to its credit, among them the soundtrack of the independent anime Tekkon Kinkreet.

Ed and Andy, original members of Black Dogs, celebrated this year their 25 years of partnership with Reachy Prints, a bright and timeless album, that speaks volumes about their exemplary career. In it, Plaid integrates the latest synthesis technologies, while keeping intact its taste for solar melodies, a signature present throughout their career. The pair also takes the opportunity to underline its expertise in collaborations with a plethora of musicians, from Björk to Goldfrapp, via London Sinfonietta or the Southbank Gamelan Players, and innovative artists in the field of musical technology.

Smart, precise, hypnotic and traversed by aerial voices, their productions transcend the techno beats with bass lines that emphasise the diversity of their sonorities. A great moment awaits us, highlighted by that unique multicast system the acousmonium that will transmit perfectly the subtlety of their electronic creations, specially designed for the occasion.

< artiste précédent artiste suivant > retour programme

PLAID (UK)

Warp

Live - Intelligent Dance Music

20'

VENDREDI 21 NOVEMBRE 2014

BÂTIMENT DES FORCES MOTRICES

Andy Turner et Ed Handley, alias Plaid, font partie de ces artistes qui ont façonné, aux côtés d’illustres pairs tels qu’Aphex Twin ou Autechre, l’histoire de l’un des labels les plus passionnants et respectés de la scène électronique, berceau d’une musique sans compromis. Si la paire, affiliée à l’écurie Warp depuis la formation du groupe en 1991, s’inscrit parmi les artistes cultes de l’âge d’or de l’IDM et de l’électronica, elle a su également évoluer avec son temps pour se maintenir à l’avant-garde de la scène électronique underground, avec plus d’une dizaine d’albums à son actif, dont la BO de l’anime indépendant Tekkon Kinkreet.

Membres originels de Black Dogs, Ed et Andy ont fêté cette année leur 25 ans de collaboration avec Reachy Prints, un album lumineux et hors du temps, qui en dit long sur leur parcours exemplaire. Plaid y intègre les dernières technologies de synthèse, tout en gardant son goût intact pour les mélodies solaires, une signature présente tout au long de leur carrière. La paire en profite également pour souligner son savoir-faire en matière de collaborations, lesquelles les ont vus s’associer à pléthore de musiciens, de Björk à Goldfrapp, en passant par le London Sinfonietta ou les Southbank Gamelan Players, et d’artistes novateurs en matière de technologie musicale.

Intelligentes, précises, hypnotiques et parcourues de voix aériennes, leurs productions transcendant les beats techno sur des lignes de basses qui soulignent la diversité de leurs sonorités. Un grand moment en perspective, mis en relief par ce système de multidiffusion unique qu’est l’acousmonium et qui saura retransmettre à la perfection la subtilité de leurs créations électroniques, spécialement conçues pour l’occasion.