next artist > BACK TO LINEUP

MATTHEW HERBERT (UK)

Accidental Records

Live - Experimental Electronic

35'

FRIDAY 21 NOVEMBER 2014

BÂTIMENT DES FORCES MOTRICES

Unusual and unifying artist, multifaceted musician and genial composer, producer of musical extremes and explorer of new sounds, it’s with joy and clamour that a living legend of electronic music will honour us with his presence at the Forces Motrices Building, the unique Matthew Herbert.

Unconventional and above all always independent-minded, Matthew Herbert has never followed the codes, current fashion or beaten paths. Ignoring borders and altering conventions traditionally associated with the genre, he is one of those artists who have profoundly influenced the minds of both the public and the media, in his relentless pursuit of innovation and experimentation.

At the head and heart of the label Accidental Records he founded in 2000, this jack-of-all-trades and dream-maker has recorded no less than twenty albums under different aliases and produced countless remixes, from Björk to Ennio Morricone, REM to Serge Gainsbourg. Working for the theatre, movies or even television, he gladly partners with bands, performing in places as iconic as prestigious, and there is no one like him to go beyond the real.

More superlatives are needed to describe his story that is still being written, to summarize his work that continues to grow, and to synthesize his whole life philosophy. But what’s certain is that the occasion is unique to revel in one of his performances that are as unique as they are rare, and what’s more in a magical setting.
Don't’ miss it!

artiste suivant > retour programme

MATTHEW HERBERT (UK)

Accidental Records

Live - Experimental Electronic

35'

VENDREDI 21 NOVEMBRE 2014

BÂTIMENT DES FORCES MOTRICES

Artiste atypique et fédérateur, musicien aux multiples facettes et compositeur de génie, producteur des extrêmes musicaux et explorateur de nouvelles sonorités, c’est avec joie et fracas qu’une véritable légende vivante de la musique électronique nous fera l’honneur de sa présence au Bâtiment des Forces Motrices, l’unique Matthew Herbert.

Anti-conventionnel et surtout toujours indépendant d’esprit, Matthew Herbert n’a jamais suivi les codes, les modes ou les chemins tout tracés. Ignorant les frontières et altérant les conventions traditionnellement associés au genre, il fait partie de ces artistes qui ont profondément marqué les esprits, tant ceux du public que des médias, dans son incessante quête d’innovations et d’expérimentations.

A la tête et au cœur du label Accidental Records, qu’il fonde en 2000, ce touche-à-tout et faiseur de rêves a réalisé pas moins de vingt albums sous différents alias et d’innombrables remix, de Björk à Ennio Morricone, de REM à Serge Gainsbourg. Collaborant pour le théâtre, le cinéma ou encore la télévision, il s’associe volontiers à des bands, en se produisant dans des lieux aussi emblématiques que prestigieux, et il n’a pas son pareil pour aller au-delà du réel.

Il manque certainement encore bien des superlatifs pour décrire son histoire qui continue de s’écrire, pour résumer son œuvre qui ne cesse de grandir ou pour synthétiser toute sa philosophie de vie. Mais ce qui est sûr, c’est que l’occasion est unique de se délecter d’une de ses prestations aussi uniques que rarissimes, et qui plus est dans un cadre magique. Don’t miss it!